Where Is South Eastern Kenya University Located

By | June 7, 2019

Where Is South Eastern Kenya University Located, South Eastern Kenya University was established in 1976 as Ukambani Agricultural Institute but in 2008 it was promoted to be to be a constituent of Nairobi University then known as South Eastern University College.In 2013, it was awarded a charter and became a public university by the name South Eastern Kenya University. It’s located in Kitui county near the Machakos –Kitui highway close to Kitui campus of Kenyatta University in Eastern Province.

The university is located in a region with some mineral wealth although it doesn’t receive much rainfall. SEKU offers competitive and unique academic programmes which are tailor-made to suit the needs of the job market both at entry level and for career opportunities progression while producing graduates that meet the country’s professional demands.

Its committed university to excellence in research and development in various fields and subjects moreso agricultural and water related courses since its location is an arid region in order to promote alternative way other than depending on rains for agriculture and water supply.The courses offered at South Eastern Kenya University concentrate most in: 

  • Acturial Sciences
  • Dry land agriculture
  • Energy studies
  • Mining
  • Water studies
  • Hydrology
  • Mineral resources
  • Related environmental or scientific areas of study

The courses offered are either certificate,diploma,undergraduate or postgraduate courses.

South Eastern Kenya University is taking a leading role in the making of water purification devices.It has distributed low-cost ceramic water filters to more than 1,000 residents of Kitui and its environment.This move is aimed at improving the socio-economic parameters and health of the locals by having them access clean water due to the fact that most of the region is semi-arid and arid zone.

Campuses of South Eastern Kenya University include:

  • South Eastern Kenya University Main Campus Kitui
  • Mwingi Campus – in Mwingi Town Kitui County
  • Tala campus
  • Machakos Town campus
  • Wote Town campus
  • Mtito Andei Town Campus
  • Nairobi Campus