Catholic University Of Eastern Africa Graduation 2013

By | June 18, 2019

Catholic University Of Eastern Africa Graduation 2013, The Catholic University of Eastern Africa held its 29th Graduation ceremony at its Lang’ata Campus on 23rd May 2014. The theme of the graduation was “Education for transformative leadership in Africa”. 597 graduands were bestowed with Doctorate, Graduate, and Undergraduate Degrees in various fields. Diplomas and Certificates in various fields were also awarded.

The University Chancellor, His Grace Archbishop Tarcisio Ziyaye, presided over the Graduation Mass held on 22nd May 2014, a day before the graduation ceremony. The Chancellor beseeched the graduands to promote unity and give glory to God in whatever they do. He said that we should learn to love others so as to promote the Common Good. He urged those in attendance to do the right thing at all times as there is joy in doing so. The Chancellor urged the congregation to do away with tribalism and cultural beliefs that hinder the promotion of unity.

Her Excellency Mumbi Chilufya Phiri, the Zambian High Commissioner to Kenya was the Guest of Honor in the 29th graduation ceremony. She congratulated the students for their success and urged them to apply the values they learned in CUEA to help them conquer the challenges they might face in today’s world.

CUEA Annual Awards 2013/2014

The Catholic University of Eastern Africa (CUEA) Annual awards 2013/2014 took place on 13th February 2014, at the University cafeteria grounds. The awards seek to recognize commitment, success and active participation from outstanding students and student leaders, clubs and faculties in the University. Nescafe, Accounting Students Association (ASA) and Rafiki Microfinance sponsored the event.

Final List of the winners of CUEA Annual Awards of Honour 2013/2014

1.Sports Category

a.Sports Man of the Year:- Mr. Adriel Manuya (Basketball)

b.Sportswoman of the Year:-Ms. Elizabeth Mbugua (Karate)

c.Captain of the year awards:- Mr. Shadrack Wambui Kinyanjui (Hockey)

d.Sports team of the year:- Rugby (CUEA MONKS)

2.Clubs Category
a.Most active club:- Rotaract

b.Active Male club official of the year:- Mr. Isaac Gitau (ASA)

c.Active Female Club official of the year:- Ms. Cynthia Nyakukira, Association for the International Exchange of Students in Economics and Commerce (AISEC)

3.Faculty Category
a.Faculty Rep of the year:- Br. Benedict Kisio (Faculty of Commerce)

b.Faculty Dean of the year:- Rev. Dr. Fredrick Mvumbi (Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences)

4.Spiritual Welfare category
a.Most active spiritual movement of the year :- Focolare

5. Most committed student in the work studies
a.Male student:- Mr. Geoffrey Kabiero (Maintenance Department)

b.Female student:- Mr. Elizabeth Waganda (Maintenance Department)

6.Entrepreneurial students of the year
a.Ms. Karen Musungu (Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences)

7.Support staff of the year
a.Administrative staff:- Mr. Gideon Maina (Dean of Students)

b.Non-academic staff:- Ms. Purity Mukuanyaga