where is technical university of mombasa situated

By | June 12, 2019

where is technical university of mombasa situated, Technical University of Mombasa (TUM) is a public university located in the coastal city of Mombasa, Kenya Tudor, along Tom Mboya avenue. It is amongst the oldest institution of higher learning in Kenya. It is one of the National Polytechnics recently elevated to a fully fledged University in Kenya. It was awarded its charter in 2013 by-then president Mwai Kibaki.

TUM can be traced back to the late 1940s when Sir Philip Mitchell, The Aga Khan, Sultan of Zanzibar, and Secretary of State for the colonies, Sir Bernard Reilly started Mombasa Institute of Muslim Education (MIOME). After its inception, MIOME started providing technical education to Muslim students of East Africa. In May 1951, MIOME enrolled its first batch of students to undergo a technical education programme which placed special emphasis on Mechanical Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Seamanship and Navigation, and Woodwork.

In 1966 MIOME become Mombasa Technical Institute (MTI) and started to admit all people feom different walks of life regardless of religion or race.

In the year 1976, MTI became Mombasa Polytechnic. Mombasa Polytechnic continued to develop more market driven programs, anchored on the five established Departments of Business Studies, Electrical and Electronics Engineering, Building and Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Applied Sciences. On 23 August 2007, through a Legal Notice Mombasa Polytechnic was elevated to a University College thus the name Mombasa Polytechnic University College (MPUC).

In 2013 after being elevated to a fully fledged University Mombasa Polytechnic University College (MPUC) became Technical University of Mombasa (TUM). TUM ha

as opened two strategic satellite Campuses in Kwale and Lamu County.