Multimedia University Of Kenya Elections

By | May 15, 2019

Multimedia University Of Kenya Elections, MUKSA Electoral Commissioners together with staff from the Dean of Students Office and Legal Officer after swearing in at Student Centre on Tuesday, May 29, 2018

Multimedia University of Kenya Student Association (MUKSA) electoral commission has been sworn in to oversee election of new student’s leadership under new law as captured in the Universities Amendment Act 2016.

The seven new commissioners, consisting of Chairperson, Vice Chairperson, Secretary, Publicist Secretary and three members have a huge task of helping the university and the students elect a new group of student’s leadership for the 2018/2019 academic year.

Speaking during the swearing in ceremony, Dean of Students Mr. Shadrack Kirunga told the commissioners that the university has placed trust on them to deliver a peaceful, free, fair and transparent election.

“The most critical thing is that this process must be managed properly. Your role therefore is to be the referee in this process,” said the Dean urging them to always work closely with the Dean and the legal offices for consultation.

The Dean also said that they will be carrying out a lot of civic education on the new law and the new election system so that students and can fully understand the election process.

MUKSA Electoral Commissioners after swearing in at Student Centre on Tuesday, May 29, 2018 Click Here to See All MUKSA Electoral Commissioners

speaking after being sworn in, the MUKSA electoral chairperson Brian Kisuya said that the only way to deliver peaceful and credible election is through teamwork and honesty.

He promised to embrace a consultative leadership that will ensure a collective responsibility throughout the exercise.

His sentiments were echoed by MUKSA electoral Vice Chairperson Annette Kimeu who said that commission’s biggest agenda is deliver peaceful and credible election.

“It is very much important to remain a solid as a team during this process,” said the Vice Chair while at the same time, calling on the students to have confidence in the electoral team.

According to the Universities Act, student council shall comprise of seven members and this therefore means that seven positions will be up for grabs. These include Chair Person, Vice Chair, Secretary General, Treasurer, Secretary for Academic Affairs, Clubs and Societies, Secretary for Sports and Games and Entertainment, Secretary for Special Needs, Environment and Health.