Laikipia University Satellite Campuses

By | June 7, 2019

Laikipia University Satellite Campuses, Laikipia University is a Kenyan University located in Nyahururu. It is the premier university of education (arts) in the country currently. It has 3 campuses: Main, Nakuru campus and Nyahururu Town campus.

Laikipia university was founded in 1929 as a primary school by William Thomas Alfred Levet. Between 1965 and 1970, the Institution served as a Large–scale Farmers training (LSFTC) college. The LSFTC was administered by the Ministry of Agriculture and Animal Husbandry.

In October 1979, it was converted into an Animal Husbandry and Industry Training Institute (AHITI) offering a two-year course leading to a Certificate in Animal Health In 1990, Laikipia University was established as a Campus of Egerton University. This followed the recommendations of a Government Committee appointed to look into modalities of absorbing a double intake of students from Secondary Schools. It was meant to offer Education courses for graduate teacher-training.