Kisii University Of Kenya

By | May 3, 2019

Kisii University Of Kenya, Kisii University is a university located in Kisii. It was founded in 1965 as a primary teachers’ training college on a 61-acre land that was donated by the County Council of Gusii. The college continued up to 1983 when it was upgraded to a secondary teachers’ college to offer Diploma programmes.


The government of Kenya mandated the university to take over the college as its campus in 1994. Kisii Campus was one of the earliest campuses to be created in Kenya by the then Head of State, H.E. Daniel arap Moi. In 1999, the Faculty of Commerce established a Bachelor of Business and Management as its first degree programmes within the campus to run alongside a postgraduate Diploma in Education, which was phased out in 2001.

On 23 August 2007, Kisii University College was established through a Government Legal Notice No.163 of 2007 as a constituent college of Egerton University. On 6 February 2013, it was awarded a charter to become the 13th public university in Kenya.

The university main campus is situated 2 km from Kisii Town Centre, off the Kisii – Kilgoris Road.


 A world class University in the advancement of social welfare, research and academic excellence.


To train high level human resource that meets the development needs of the country and international labour market, and to sustain production of high quality research and consultancy, and dissemination of knowledge, skills and competencies for the advancement of humanity

The University is anchored in the philosophy of creative, scientific, technological, innovative and critical thinking responsive to societal needs and service to humanity. 


The following are are some of the core values embraced in order to realize our vision and mission at Kisii University; Professionalism, Teamwork, Accountability, Transparency, Responsiveness and Integrity. 

Campuses and schools

The students are distributed over the Main Campus, Kisii Town Campuses, Keroka Campus, Nyamira Campus,kisumu, Ogembo Campus and Isebania Campus.

The university has the following faculties, schools and institutes:

  • School of Law
  • School of Pure and Applied Sciences
  • School of Health Sciences
  • School of Business and Management
  • School of Engineering and Technology
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Arts and Social Science
  • Faculty of Information Science and Technology
  • Faculty of Agriculture and Natural Resource Management
  • Institute of Gender and Development Studies
  • Institute of Peace and Conflict Studies

As part of its expansion programme, the university has opened campuses in Nairobi, Eldoret, Kisumu, Kitale and Kabarnet.


The Kisii University,
P.o Box 408-40200, Kisii.
Mobile No.:0720875082/724607480