Kisii University News

By | May 3, 2019

Kisii University News, the Commission for University Education (CUE) has ordered the closure of 10 out of 13 Kisii University Campuses in Western, Nyanza and Rift Valley and issued 90 days of winding up and relocating the students to accredited campuses.

The 10 Kisii University Campuses to be closed are in Eldoret, Eldama Ravine, Nyamira, Kabarnet, Migori, Ogembo, Keroka, Kehancha, Kapenguria and Isebania.

Also facing closure is closure is Laikipia University campus in Nyahururu.


In an inspection report submitted to Education Cabinet Secretary Fred Matiang’i, the 10 universities campuses fell below the expected threshold.

“The Commission is, therefore considering auditing all the systems of Kisii University to ensure quality in the delivery of university education,” adds the report compiled by CUE Chief executive officer David Some.

CUE said inspection of campuses in Kenya is still ongoing and currently consideration is being given to the Central, Eastern and Coast Regions of Kenya.

A total of 11 Campuses of four private Universities, in addition to the main campuses, were inspected and recognized as having met the minimum requirements for recognition.

Another 18 campuses of the Seven Public Universities, as well as the main campuses, which were considered to be the seats of the Universities, were audited.


Eight Universities whose campuses have been given a clean bill of health and accredited are Mount Kenya University’s four campuses in Nakuru, Kisii, Eldoret and Kitale.

Others that have been accredited are Kenyatta University’s Kericho Campus, Catholic University of East Africa-Eldoret, Jomo Kenyatta University of agriculture and Technology Kisii campus and St Paul University-Nakuru campus.

Campuses under the review include Jaramogi Oginda Odinga University of science and technology-Kisumu, Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and technology-Nakuru, Kisii university campuses in Kisumu, Kericho and Kitale, Laikipia University campuses in Nakuru, Eldoret and Naivasha, Moi university campuses in Kitale and Odera Akang’o,University of Eastern Africa- Baraton Eldoret campus , University of Eldoret –Eldoret CBD and University of Kibianga –Kaptatet campus.