Jaramogi Oginga Odinga University Of Science And Technology Campuses

By | May 22, 2019

Jaramogi Oginga Odinga University Of Science And Technology Campuses, Jaramogi Oginga Odinga University of Science and Technology will open three more campuses in the county.

Vice Chancellor Stephen Agong’ said that campuses will be opened in Mahaya, Kapiyo and Nyangera in Rarieda and Bondo sub-counties respectively.‚Äč

“We want to make tertiary education accessible and affordable to all young men and women of this region through establishing campuses at the grassroots in order to bridge the gap between the rich and the poor,” said Prof Agong’.

Agong noted that already a 29-acre parcel had been donated by the community to establish the new campuses.

The university has earmarked the Kapiyo campus, located in South West Sakwa location, for the establishment of a research centre and School of Environmental and Natural Resource Management while Nyangera in East Yimbo location will host the faculty of Agriculture.

“The university will transfer its engineering department to Mahaya in West Asembo location, which currently hosts Mahaya Youth Polytechnic so that the university can continue offering the existing courses from basic to advanced levels,” said the Deputy Vice Chancellor in charge of Planning, Administration and Finance, Washington Olima.

He added that the university expansion will enable them to provide relevant technical courses, which will boost the economic development of the region.

Meanwhile, the VC has asked students to embrace creativity to boost academic standards saying that innovation and aggressive research will prepare them for the global market. He said this yesterday during the induction ceremony for the more than 2,000 new students.